23.2 C
Niagara Falls
Monday, July 15, 2024
Kings of the floor: Undefeated all season, NOTL’s U22 Thunderhawks win provincial championship
Members of the Niagara Thunderhawks U22 lacrosse team flank coach Andy Boldt as they celebrate their provincial championship win at a party in Niagara-on-the-Lake on Saturday. (Photography by Dave Van de Laar)
The Niagara Thunderhawks U22 coaching staff, from left, assistant B.J. Trush, head coach Andy Boldt and trainer Dan Willms.
Trent Hunter.
Trainer Dan Willms.
Tanyan Davis.
Sam Vanderzalm.
Nolan Price.
Noah Ostromecki.
Nathan Wilson.
Matt Van de Laar.
Liam Gatt.
Liam Dietsch.
Kris Wilson.
Keaton Boldt.
Jordan Wiens.
Joe Fragnito.
Jack Parker.
Jack Muraca.
Jack Marotta.
Hunter Ostromecki.
Head coach Andy Boldt.
Ethan Williams.
Colby Ostromecki.
Christian Blaylock.
Bret Wilson.
Assistant coach B.J. Trush.
Aedan O'Gorman.
Aaron Wilson.

The Niagara Thunderhawks U22 team capped an incredible season-long run Thursday, winning the Ontario box lacrosse “A” division championship in Whitby.

The Thunderhawks, coached by Niagara-on-the-Lake’s Andy Boldt, remained undefeated, not losing a game through the regular season, tournament play or in the provincial championship.

Given that barely eight months ago it looked like lack of player interest and low membership would lead to the demise of the entire Thunderhawks organization, the U22 squad’s achievement is all the more remarkable.

Coach Boldt was proud of what the team did.

“It was a huge accomplishment for the team to go a full season being undefeated. Not just at the U22 level, but any level from paperweight to the National Lacrosse League. Not just lacrosse but any sport,” he told The Lake Report.

“Through their dedication and commitment to each other they were able to persevere at the provincials with two come-from-behind wins to take the ‘A’ championship,” he said. 

“It was a great way for the six players aging out of minor lacrosse to finish their careers and for the team’s six rookies to experience what is required to win a championship.” 

In more than 20 games, the only blemish on their record was a 4-4 tie with the Gloucester Griffins in the first game of the provincial tournament’s round-robin.

But Niagara got its revenge in the championship final, where the Thunderhawks faced  Gloucester again but this time ended it with a decisive 4-1 gold medal win.

Besides Boldt, the coaching staff includes assistant B.J. Trush and  trainer Dan Willms.

The championship team players are: Christian Blaylock, Keaton Boldt, Tanyon Davis, Liam Dietsch, Joseph Fragnito, Liam Gatt, Trent Hunter, Jack Marotta, Jack Muraca, Aedan O’Gorman, Colby Ostromecki, Hunter Ostromecki, Noah Ostromecki, Jack Parker, Nolan Price, Matthew VandeLaar, Aaron Wilson, Brett Wilson, Kristopher Wilson, Nathan Wilson, Sam  VanderZalm, Jordan Wiens and Ethan Williams.

See next week’s edition of The Lake Report and niagaranow.com for more. 

Subscribe to our mailing list