1.5 C
Niagara Falls
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Sports: Golf leagues get back into the swing for another season

Leagues are back in full swing for another season of friendly and fun competition at the Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club.

In the WOOFs Tuesday men's league on May 10, Rick Janes led the way, winning low gross with a 2-over 38. Doug Dineley took low net with a 37.

Garry Stuggins won the hidden hole (#9) while Rai Lauge was closest to the pin on #4. 

Martin Vagners took home $67 in the 50/50 draw.

In the women's 18 hole league on Tuesday, Louise Robitaille had the low gross score with 82, while captain Valerie Chubey was low net winner at 72, and broke 90 for the first time, shooting an 89.

Cash winners for fewest putts were Yolanda Henry, Gayle Tanner and Lisa Allen, while in the putting contest Carolyn Porter went five for five to win.

Several women had chip-ins: Brenda Bell (#1), Chris Walker (#2), Chubey (#13) and Marilyn Cochrane (#18).

“Hit the Fairway” on the fourth hole was the game of the day Tuesday for the nine hole women's league.

Winners were: Margot Hickson, Wilca Lay, Bonnie Lamourie, Suzanne Rate, Sharon Allen, Jill Planche, Suzanne Watson and Carole Matheson.

Top low gross scorers were Diana Dimmer (40), Cathy Saytar (46) and Suzanne Watson (47).

The popular Thursday men's league is jam-packed with 162 registered participants this year. To accommodate so many players, the club needs 2:15 and 5 p.m. shotgun starts and tee times earlier for some groups.

Organized team competitions and other contests will begin in June.

In week 1, reigning men's open champion James Grigjanis-Meusel continued his dominance, winning low gross honours.

In week 2 on May 5, he repeated the feat, tying for first with Jim McMacken with a 1-over 37. Bob Lowe was the winner under Stableford scoring, with 22 points.

Other week 2 men's prize winners were Ricky Watson (longest drive on #3 and longest putt made on #5), Oleh Hrycko (closest to the pin on #4) and McMacken (closest to the pin #9). Net skins were scooped by Grant Williams (#8) and Bernard Marlow (#9). No gross skins were won. 


Subscribe to our mailing list