10.5 C
Niagara Falls
Thursday, April 18, 2024
Close matches in first tennis tourney since pandemic



The NOTL Tennis Club mixed doubles tournament was filled with close matches, as the sun beat down on players Friday and Saturday.

The tournament was the first for the tennis club since 2019, before the start of the global pandemic.

Paul Plourde and Kim Laidlaw, first-time partners, took home the championship title.

Laidlaw, a member of the club for two years, said the win felt “fantastic.”

“I had a great partner, but it was the hottest day I think I’ve ever played,” she said after getting off the courts from her winning match.

Plourde said the game was “evenly matched” with finalists Fran Doran and John Pilling.

“A lot of credit to my partner,” Plourde said.

“We want to say thank you to (the organizers) … that paired us together, because Kim and I didn’t know each other before the tournament.”

Tournament director Holly Anderson said the event was filled with close matches.

“There was some great tennis with extremely competitive matches, many of which went down to the wire with tie-breakers to decide the result,” said Anderson.

“Judging by the cheers and applause, the many spectators present enjoyed the event and appreciated the quality of tennis involved.”

Bagged lunches were prepared in place of a buffet by Mary Lou Turner of Let’s Get Fresh Catering.

“It was a successful event and we hope a tremendous return to normalcy,” Anderson said.


A division champions: Kim Laidlaw and Paul Plourde. Finalists: Fran Doran and John Pilling.

B division champions: Margaret Hobbs-Mancusso and Enzo Mancusso. Finalists: Dorothy Booth and Scott McGregor.

A division consolation champions: Roman Korda and Nicole Marsh-Burke. Finalists: Kendra Osa and Hugh Dow.

B division consolation champions: Amanda and Jim Thackray. Finalists: Jennifer Allen and Terry Ratkovsky.

Third place A  division champions: Cathy Buis and Scott Lewis. Finalists: Kathy and John Goodin.

Third place B division champions: Anne Robinson and George Schachtschneider. Finalists: Ann Davies and Ross Robinson.

Fourth place A division champions: Manny and Zeny Umoquit. Finalists: Deb Robert and Ken McGillivray.

Fourth place B winners: Natalie Early and Bruce Zvaniga. Finalists: Margie Lambert-Sen and Maz Sen.

Subscribe to our mailing list