23.5 C
Niagara Falls
Friday, June 14, 2024
Niagara Entrepreneur of the Year Awards hit White Oaks Feb. 23.

Entrepreneurs from around Niagara will be celebrated this month, when the 24th annual Niagara Entrepreneur of the Year Awards hits White Oaks Resort & Spa in Niagara-on-the-Lake on Feb. 23.

The gala dinner will see the recipients of nine judged categories announced, and Niagara residents Len Pennachetti and Larry Boggio will be presented the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Jan R. Cook Community Contribution Award for 2017, respectively.

Categories and nominees are:

Young Entrepreneur Award:
Olivia Poulin, Pupadise Inc., Niagara Falls
Marcy Mussari, Marcy Mussari Interior Decorator, Queenston
Dalton Steele, HUVr, St. Catharines
Kevin Unger, Kevin Unger Photography, St. Catharines
Anna Schmoll, Rose Hill Lane, Niagara
Ashlynn Ross, Planks Canada, Crystal Beach

Emerging Entrepreneur Award:
Claire Anderson and Steven Woodruff, Studio Vine Glass, Niagara Falls
Kalin Falconer, Bloom & Co., Niagara-on-the-Lake
Nick Fortuna, Impero Contracting Inc., Niagara-on-the-Lake
Paul Caporicci and Shawn Jackson, Creative Bytes Studios, St. Catharines
Allie Hughes, Hughes & Co., Thorold
Aaron Kozlowski & Lee Melarangeli, GlobalTek Security Inc., Niagara/Hamilton/GTA

Innovative Entrepreneur Award:
Joe Crawford, Joe Crawford Live, Port Colborne
Lisa Carlomusto, Dental Hygiene of Niagara, St. Catharines
Christina Kendall and Julie McCready, Club Jump Inc., St. Catharines
Geoff Dillon, Dillon’s Small Batch Distillers, Beamsville

Tourism and Hospitality Entrepreneur Award:
Charlie Clowes, Clowes & Co – Ello Gov’na + MASON, Niagara Falls
Cian MacNeill, Niagara Oast House Brewers, Niagara-on-the-Lake
Stephen Del Col and Jacquelene Igel-Del Col, Zooma Caters & Tintern Road, Jordan Station
Nancy Niznik, Niagara Cake Artistry, Ridgeway

Agricultural, Horticultural and Environmental Entrepreneur Award:
Doug Glancy, Kiva Landscape Design Build Inc., St. Catharines
Melaina Gasbarrino, SALT to TREE, Thorold
Susan Cavey and John Robertson, Natural Insect Control, Stevensville

Technological Entrepreneur Award:
Jeff Douglas, DMS Technologies Inc., St. Catharines
Nick Kuryluk, ColdBlock Technologies Inc., St. Catharines
Michael Mottola, Jason Leonard and David Koski, Landlord Web Solutions, Thorold

International Entrepreneur Award:
Torben Rasmussen and Niels Rasmussen, Niagara Pattern Ltd., Niagara Falls
Sarah Gretzinger, Market Savvy, Niagara-on-the-Lake
Mike Violin, The Violin Group, St. Catharines

Family Entrepreneur Award:
Anthony Stayrer, A.S. Security & Surveillance Inc., Niagara Falls
Scott Schappert, Nancy Schappert, Ryan Schappert, Niagara Inflatables & Games Inc., Niagara on the Lake
Gary Clemmensen and Jeff Clemmensen, Mac Frugal’s Furniture, Cash Depot & Liquidation King, St. Catharines
Marilyn Lee-Hannah, Robin Hannah, Jacalyn Hannah, and Tommy Hannah, Sherwood Farm, St. Catharines
Frank Aiello, CC’s Dugout Italian Eatery, Welland

Established Entrepreneur Award:
Dr. James Wimmer, Advanced Chiropractic Clinic, Niagara Falls
Jerry Rinaldi, Rinaldi Homes, St. Catharines
Michelle Latocha, Be Active Live Better, St. Catharines
Dan Giancola, BTO Performance Group and Personal Training, Thorold
Eric Pridmore, Presstime Design & Screenprint, Welland

Nominees in the judged categories were required to have been involved with their business for a minimum of two years, with exceptions being the young and emerging entrepreneur categories.

There will also be two $500 travel voucher giveaways at the event, donated by CAA Niagara. You will need a CAA membership card to enter.

The event is presented by Meridian Credit Union.

Tickets can be purchased at, eventbrite.ca.

What: Niagara Entrepreneur of the Year Awards 24th annual awards presentation dinner.

Where: White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa, 253 Taylor Rd., Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON.

When: 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. (6 p.m. reception, 7 p.m. dinner, 9:30 p.m. after party).

Cost: $125/person $1,150/table.

Subscribe to our mailing list