13.8 C
Niagara Falls
Saturday, July 20, 2024
T. Roy Adams Humanitarian Award nominations open

Nominations are open for the T. Roy Adams Humanitarian of the Year Award, presented by the Niagara Region in honour of the late Niagara Region Coun. Thomas ‘Roy’ Adams.

Nominees must be current residents of Niagara and must have evidence that the spirit of volunteerism and community service plays an integral part of the individual's life. They must also be a person whose community service has involved the citizens of Niagara.

Elected officials (currently in office) and employees of Niagara Region are not eligible.

Nominees can be sponsored by either an organization or two individuals (co-sponsors, not related to the nominee).

For applications made this year, the three runners up will automatically be forwarded to the next two years.

Nominations will not be considered after the deadline of March 31.

The award winner will be selected by an adjudication committee comprised of Regional Chair Alan Caslin, regional councillors, regional senior staff and one member of the community and the award will be presented at a meeting of regional council in July.

The recipient's name will also be engraved on the commemorative plaque displayed in the lobby of the Regional Headquarters Building.

The 2017 recipient was Tom Rankin.

Thomas Roy Adams was actively involved in many organizations including: the Association of Municipalities of Ontario; the St. Catharines General Hospital Board of Governors; the Niagara District Health Council, Executive Committee; the Niagara Rehabilitation Centre; the St. Catharines Hydro Electric Commission; the St. Catharines South Rotary Club; Probus Club; the Lincoln and Welland Regiment Band; the Thorold Reed Band; the Niagara Falls Concert Band; the Port Colborne Band; the Clown Band/Hungry Seven; and the Bandmaster/Director of Holland's Glorie Band.

Information from Niagara Region.

Subscribe to our mailing list