5.4 C
Niagara Falls
Wednesday, February 8, 2023
13 council candidates, 3 fight for mayoralty and 5 join regional race
The new council will be inaugurated Tuesday night at the Court House Supplied

Some last-minute candidate additions as nominations close


They’re off and running.

Nominations for candidates in the Oct. 24 municipal election closed at 2 p.m. Friday, but not before a few last-minute hopefuls were able to sign their registration papers.

The final council candidate to submit their nomination documents was Katherine Reid of Queenston, who became the 13th person running for one of eight seats.

Couns. Allan Bisback, Gary Burroughs, Wendy Cheropita, Sandra O’Connor and Erwin Wiens are all seeking re-election.

They are all joined in the race by Tim Balasiuk, Adriana Cater, Alistair Harlond, Maria Mavridis, John McCallum, Richard Mell and Nick Ruller.

Couns. Norm Arsenault, Clare Cameron and John Wiens opted to not run again.

Incumbent Lord Mayor Betty Disero is facing a challenge from regional Coun. Gary Zalepa and retired businessman Vaughn Goettler, who filed his nomination papers Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Andrea Kaiser, William Roberts and Barbara Worthy all entered the regional council race in the final days before the deadline, bringing to five the number of people fighting for NOTL’s one regional seat.

Pat Darte and Paolo Miele registered previously.

The race for the four NOTL-St. Catharines seats on the District School Board of Niagara had one late addition with Rhona Lindo-Kelly signing up.

Christine Lewis withdrew her nomination on Aug. 18, leaving incumbents Kate Baggott, Alex Bradnam, Lora Campbell and Jonathan Fast in the race along with other challengers Donald MacDougall and Kris Vreck.

And three candidates – Natalia Benoit, Larry Huibers and Jolanta Pawlak – are running for the two NOTL-St. Catharines seats on the Niagara Catholic District School Board.

Advanced polling will take place Oct. 8 at St. Davids Public School, Oct. 12 and 19 at the town offices on Four Mile Creek Road and Oct. 15 at the NOTL Community Centre.

The new town council will begin its term Nov. 15.

Subscribe to our mailing list