26.1 C
Niagara Falls
Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Disero wins lord mayor race with 50 per cent of votes

Niagara-on-the-Lake has a new Lord Mayor — or should we say Lady Mayor. Betty Disero led the polls through the night as results came in for the 2018 Municipal Election, winning the night with 50.01 per cent of votes.

Disero will be joined by councillors Clare Cameron, Erwin Wiens, Gary Burroughs, Wendy Cheropita, John Wiens, Stuart McCormack, Allan Bisback, and Norm Arsenault.

The election saw a 58.74 per cent voter turnout with 8349 ballots cast out of 14,214 eligible voters. Disero won 4,135 votes, while Pat Darte won 2732  (33.04 per cent) and Daniel Turner won 1402 (16.95 per cent).

Story in development.

Subscribe to our mailing list