St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church is gearing up for the Strawberry Festival this weekend and our Tiny Museum will be there with one of our travelling exhibitions. This week’s image is brought to you by artist Betty Lane, who lived in town in the 1940s. The congregation of St. Andrew’s was established by 1794, possibly earlier. The original church was destroyed as the American forces retreated from the town and set it ablaze in 1813. Construction of the present church of St. Andrew’s began on May 31, 1831. James Cooper was the architect of the building and it mirrors the New England influence on many of the homes that were built in town after the War of 1812. Members of St. Andrew’s Church are treated to one of the most stunning pulpits in the area. The pulpit and sounding board were fashioned by John Davidson, a local joiner and were a gift from church member and benefactor, John Young. When the new church was complete, pews went to the highest bidder. The least expensive pew went for £8 and the most expensive went to Jared Stocking for £40.