20.1 C
Niagara Falls
Saturday, September 23, 2023
Exploring Photos: Greene’s Livery Stable
The former livery stables were first established by Michael J. Greene in the late 1800s.

This week’s image is of the former livery stables of the Greene family. The stables were established on King Street by Michael J. Greene sometime in the late 1800s. During the 1901 visit of the future King George V and his wife Mary, Greene’s carriage with white horses was chosen to escort them on a tour of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Michael’s son Jack continued in the stable business on the same site up until the mid-1960s. Residents of Old Town recalled the distinct smell of the stables that wafted down King Street every hot and humid day. Today, the stables have been refurbished and are now the site of a restaurant — one can enjoy a tasty food experience at Aura on the Lake.

Subscribe to our mailing list