23 C
Niagara Falls
Monday, May 20, 2024
Sports: NOTL Hockey Association honours players and coaches
The NOTL Hockey Association's award winners are: Anthony Felice (Volunteer of the Year), Braden Grealy (James Berg Award), Nick Munera (Virgil Business Association Scholarship Award), Lucas Pillitteri (Mike Moore Goalie Award), Marco Gruosso (Jamie Froese Memorial Award), Ben Bayne (Joel Murray Player Dedication Award) and Devon Neudorf (Coach of the Year.) DAVE VAN DE LAAR
Braden Grealy receives the James Berg Award from James Cadeau. DAVE VAN DE LAAR
Nick Munera receives the inaugural Virgil Business Association Scholarship Award from Phil Leboudec. DAVE VAN DE LAAR
Past recipient Liam VanGent and Mike Cwiertniewski present the Joel Murray Player Dedication Award) to Ben Bayne. DAVE VAN DE LAAR
Alex Reed, Kyle Juras and coach Devon Neudorf present the Jamie Froese Memorial Award to U18 rep captain Marco Gruosso. DAVE VAN DE LAAR
Carl Glauser and Paul Kocsis present the Coach of the Year Award to Devon Neudorf, centre. DAVE VAN DE LAAR
Glen Davis, right, presents the NOTL Minor Hockey Association Volunteer of the Year Award to Anthony Felice. DAVE VAN DE LAAR
Past recipient Zander Rigas and and Mike Cwiertniewski present Lucas Pillitteri with the Mike Moore Goalie Award. DAVE VAN DE LAAR

Tania Fera-VanGent
Special to The Lake Report

The Niagara-on-the-Lake Hockey Association honoured players and volunteers at its annual awards ceremony and coaches appreciation gathering Monday evening. 

 “Our memorial awards are special because they are connected to people in our hockey community who always displayed a true love and dedication to the game and their names are carried on through the memorial awards,” association president Peter Flynn told the audience.

Anthony Felice was named Volunteer of the Year and Flynn acknowledged the countless people who donate hundreds of hours to give kids a positive hockey experience.  

Devon Neudorf, coach of the U18 rep team, earned the Kocsis/Glauser Memorial Award for coach of the year, while Lucas Pillitteri received the Mike Moore Goalie Award.

Ben Bayne won the Joel Murray Player Dedication Award and U18 rep team captain Marco Gruosso took home the Jamie Froese Memorial Award.

The association’s newest honour, the Virgil Business Association Scholarship, for a player pursuing post-secondary studies in business, was presented to Nick Munera. 

Braden Grealy received the James Berg Scholarship Award.

Subscribe to our mailing list