5.9 C
Niagara Falls
Saturday, April 20, 2024
Sports: Golf leagues wrap up season with awards and prizes
Ian Adams, left, was crowned the Golden Dog and Jack Hanna, right, was named Top Dog in the NOTL Golf Club's WOOFs league. In the middle is WOOFs co-ordinator Bill Katrynuk. (Supplied) Supplied

Winners were celebrated as the Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club’s men’s and women’s leagues wrapped up their seasons last week.

For the Thursday men’s league, the year-end banquet is a seasonal highlight – not for the golf, but for the prize table.

There was some golf played at the finale, however, and the foursome of Oleh Hrycko, Harry Huizer, Jim Meszaros and John Reynolds won the day.

Seasonal winners were crowned in several categories.

Top of the board, winning the low gross title seven times each, were Ricky Watson and James Grigjanis-Meusel, the 2022 and 2021 men’s open champs respectively.

Gerry Shelly was the Stableford scoring champ, with five wins. Watson (with 12) and Reynolds (10) were tops in skins.

Ben Berti was named long drive champ and closest to pin winners were Brian MacIntyre (#4) and McMacken (#9). The season-long putting contest winner was Terry Catney.

In team play over the season, there was a rare tie, with two groups accumulating 1,783  points.

Members of the Natural Hazards were: Randy Busbridge, Bruce Dixon, Steve Ferley, Jack Hanna, Mike Henry, Daryl McCrossan, Doug McCulloch, Jim McMacken, Drew Porter, Gerry Shelly, Earl Shore and Warren Tutton.

The Far From Par team was comprised of: Peter Danakis, Greg Fedoryn, John Foreman, Oleh Hrycko, Johnson Hu, Brian MacIntyre, Bernard Marlow, Jim Meszaros, John Reynolds, John Thomson and Glenn Young.

The Tuesday morning nine and 18 hole women’s leagues teamed up for the Queen’s Jubilee Closing Game and Breakfast.

Organizers Maria Townley, Nikki Jenkins and Cathy Taylor went all out and participants each received a golf ball cupcake, bath balm, tea, coffee and scones with jam and butter. The tables were decorated in the Queen’s Jubilee theme.
Scrolls were handed out with game instructions and a card was handed to each player for a fun little game.
After the day’s Royal Scramble, the winners were crowned: First place: Jo Castledine, Judy Mantle, Carole Matheson and Maria Townley. Second: Carroll Baker, Bonnie Lamourie, Carolyn Porter and Suzanne Rate. Third: Christine Earl, Susan Gagne, Lynn Heaman and Suzanne Watson.
Individual winners were: Penny Green, closest to the crown (#4); Maria Townley, longest putt (#7); Brenda Bell, longest drive (#5); and Suzanne Rate, closest to the line (#8).
Three women were singled out for their jubilee-themed attire: Brenda Bell, Michele Darling and Carolyn Porter.
The women’s trophy winners also were recognized: Cathy Murray (Holmwood Cup); Michele Darling (Robb Cup); Sharron Marlow (Gilbert Cup); Sue Sherk (Hunter Cup) and Yolanda Henry (Rossal Cup, Vera Derbyshire trophy and Barbara Alhuwalia trophy).
Fewest putts winner was Ginny Green and the Queen of Hearts prize went to Helen McCallum.
At the Tuesday WOOFs league wrap-up, co-ordinator Bill Katrynuk announced two major prizes. Top Dog honours went to Jack Hanna and Ian Adams was named Golden Dog.

Subscribe to our mailing list