9.3 C
Niagara Falls
Friday, March 1, 2024
Sports: Carmichael goes one better to be WOOFs’ top dog again
Ted Carmichael, right, has been the top shooter in the NOTL Golf Club's WOOFs league the past two weeks. Rai Lauge, left, won low net last week. KEN BURR
Ted Carmichael is the top dog for the second consecutive week.


He followed up last week’s 2-over 38, bettering it by a shot with a score of 1-over 37 on Tuesday in the WOOFs men’s league at the Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club.

He edged out Don Allen by one shot. Rai Lauge was low net last week winner and Jim Cosgrove captured that category this week.

Brian MacIntyre was closest to the pin on #4 last week and Dan Reagan had the honour this week.

In last Thursday’s men’s league action, Mark Derbyshire and Matt Szczurko both shot 37 to share low gross honours.

Jack Hanna had the best score in modified Stableford scoring for the second week in a row, with 22 points.

Other winners were: Josh D’Agostino (longest drive), Ted Wiens (closest to the 150 marker on #2), Joe Mulholland (closest to the pin #1), Glenn Young (longest putt #6), Drew Porter (longest putt #8) and Larry Mantle (closest to the pin #9).

Net skins winners were: Jim McMacken (#5), Porter (#2) and Gary Wasylow (#4). Gross skins, both birdies, were won by McMacken (#5) and Dean McCann (#7).

In the nine-hole women’s league, Tuesday morning, Candace MacLean, with a net score of 31, won the Captain’s Cup. Other winners were: Judy Cardiff (longest putt on #2) and Ruth Dowsett (lucky draw).

Diana Dimmer won low gross with a score of 42, followed by Deborah Williams (47) and Peggy Larder (48). Top net scores were: MacLean (31), Jill Planche (33) and tied Bonnie Lamourie, Larder and Margot Hickson, all tied with 34.

In the 18-hole women’s league on Tuesday, under the Stableford scoring system, Sharron Marlow was tops with 39 points.

Yolanda Henry, Christine Earl and Martha Cruikshank were second with 35 points, followed by May Chang and Patty Garriock with 31.

Best gross scores were: Cruikshank (88), Louise Robitaille (89), Henry (90), Carroll Baker (94) and Marlow (98).

Net score winners were: Marlow (69), Henry (73), Cruikshank (73), Earl (74) and Chang (77).




Subscribe to our mailing list