13.1 C
Sunday, October 2, 2022
Sports: Ruth Dowsett leads 9-hole women

Ruth Dowsett was a big winner in the nine-hole women's league Tuesday at the Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club.

Her 51 was good for a share of second place low gross honours and a net 39 tied her with Barb Werner for low net. Dowsett was also closest to the 150-yard marker on the eighth hole.

Other winners were low gross Diana Dimmer and Suzanne Watson (50), and Maureen Dickson (51), longest putt Lynne Heaman (#5), Dimmer (#3), and Cathy Saytar was closest to the 150 marker on #1.

The women competed for the Captain's Cup and the winner will be announced next week.

In women's 18-hole league play on Tuesday, seniors champ Louise Robitaille won low gross with an 82, followed by Michele Darling (84) and Yolanda Henry (90). 

Low net winner was Sharron Marlow (75), followed by Cheryl Yamamoto, Darling and Henry, all at 76.

Other winners were: fewest putts Darling and Peggy Larder (28), and Chris Walker (30). Closest to the pin #4, Valerie Chubey;  Most fairways hit on the front 9 – May Chang, Susan Gagne and Yamamoto each hit seven fairways; Birdies Robitaille (#2), Sue Sherk (#9). Carroll Baker had a chip-in on #4.

MEN'S RESULTS: Jim McMacken continued his stellar play, shooting an even-par 36 in Tuesday WOOFs league play. Rob Chubey was low net (37).

Jim Meszaros and Harry Huizer had birdies on #7 to win the hidden hole, while Rai Lauge was closest to the pin on #4. Dean McCann won $63 in the 50/50 draw.

In men's league competition on Thursday, May 19, Mark Derbyshire was tops in three categories.

He shared low gross with James Grigjanis-Meusel, shooting a one-under 35, had the longest drive on #3 and won a gross skin on #3.

Other winners: Top Stableford score, Bill Smith and Randy Churchill (21 points); closest to the pin, Al Bannister (#4) and Paul Wilson (#9); longest putt #5, Wil Neufeld; longest drive (60+) on #6, Harry Huizer.

Other gross skins winners were: John Reynolds (#2), Ricky Watson (#5) and Brock Sansom (#9). Net skins went to John Reynolds (#2), Terry Catney (#3), Tim Taylor (#6), Churchhill (#7) and Arthur Wosinksi (#8).