Coventry TransportationCoventry Transportation
The Weather Network
Oct. 28, 2021 | Thursday
Local News
Golf: Wrighteous men’s league victory
Some of the members of the victorious Wrighteous Brothers were on hand to collect their hardware: Front row, Michael Eagen, Dow Wright, Kevin MacLean. Back: Jim McMacken, Peter Danakas, Bob Lavery, John Kozic, Paul Jacot and Will Walker. Absent: Ken Willms, Cal Cochrane and Ken Porter. (Supplied)

The Wrighteous Brothers rule the roost in the Niagara-on-the-Lake men’s league.

The 12-member team, captained by Dow Wright, fought off a late-season challenge by Sean Simpson’s Trajectile Dysfunction team and emerged victorious in the season-long competition.

The winning squad was crowned by league convener Ted Wiens at the annual men’s league finale.

The event is the highlight of the season as it allows the assemble crowd of gents to acknowledge the golf accomplishments of several of their brethren. And there is plenty of beer and a great prize table assembled by club pros Billy Simkin and Ricky Watson.

All the winners of the men’s various club championship divisions as well as the season-long match play competitions were recognized.

Members of the Wrighteous Brothers were: Capt. Dow Wright, Cal Cochrane, Peter Danakas, Michael Eagen, Paul Jacot, John Kozik, Bob Lavery, Kevin MacLean, Jim McMacken, Ken Porter, Will Walker and Ken Willms.

Other winners: Men’s Night Overall Champion, Jim McMacken. Men’s Night B flight Champion, Gerry Shelly.

Closest to the pin shootout at the finale: Winner, Joe Taylor. Second: Brian McKillop. Third: David Gagne.

Match play competition winners: The 2019 club champ, Joe Doria, won both the President’s Cup and the Niagara Cup in match competition. Wettlaufer Cup: Joe Taylor. Carmichael Cup: Dow Wright (second consecutive year). Gold Up pairs: Ted Carmichael and Peter Falconer.