17.4 C
Niagara Falls
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
Golf: Fearsome foursome shoots -8 to win Chautauqua Open

A golf pro, a respected officer of the court, a Niagara golf legend and former club champion, and a neighbourhood celebrity – those were all the ingredients required for winning the annual Chautauqua Open championship at the Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club last week.

NOTL club assistant pro Ricky Watson, lawyer Patrick Little, 92-year-old golf legend Doug Garrett and Ross Robinson teamed up to shoot an incredible 8-under par 28 in the scramble format tournament.

Included in that performance were two eagles and Watson driving the green on the 320-yard sixth hole to set up one of the eagles.

The team members were awarded a green fee voucher by organizer Kurt Hamm in recognition of their victory.

Women’s league: Lisa Allen took low gross honours on Aug. 20, shooting 86, followed by Maria Townley and Janice White (91), and Brenda Bell (94). Low net: Townley (66), White (67), Allen (68). Fewest putts: Townley (30), Judy Mantle, Andrea Douglas (33), May Chang, Allen, White (34). Closest to pin: Bell (#4), Marilyn Cochrane (#13). Birdies: Cochrane (#2), White (#7). Chip in: Douglas.

Men’s league: Jim McMacken continued his stellar play of late, shooting a 1-under 35 to win low gross in Aug. 15 men’s competition. He also scooped a $20 gross skin, had the longest drive on #8 and shared A flight honours. Other winners: Gross skins: Sean Simpson, Ron Newman, Ted Carmichael. Net skins: Mike Scott, Ralph Rickard, Cal Cochrane. Closest to pin: Mike Scott, John Grimstead, Paul Dickson, Bob Lavery. Long drive #3: Wil Neufeld. A flight: Tom Goodbody, Ken Porter (24 points). B flight: Bill Garriock, Rai Lauge, Bob Lavery, Gerry Shelly. 50/50: Alan Dickson ($190).

WOOFs league: Peter Falconer won low gross in the Tuesday men’s league on Aug. 13, with a 2-over 38. John Hinchley clinched the low net with a 31. Peter Danakas won closest to the pin and Daryl Fry won the hidden hole with a birdie 3 on #7. In the Legends championship tourney, for gents over age 80, Doug Garrett was again crowned champion.

Subscribe to our mailing list