9.1 C
Niagara Falls
Saturday, April 20, 2024
Niagara Region accepting nominations for humanitarian of the year

The Niagara Region is now accepting nominations for the 2019 T. Roy Adams Humanitarian award.

The award was started in 2003 to commemorate the late Coun. T. Roy Adams and is meant to honour Niagara residents who share the same core values and dedication to community that Adams did; a person who sees volunteerism as an essential part of life, according to a Region media release.

A nominee can be sponsored by either an organization or two people who are not directly related to them. Nominees must also currently reside in Niagara.

Elected officials currently in office and employees of the region are not eligible for nomination.

The three runners up will be considered for the next two years.

Niagararegion.ca lists the criteria, in order of importance, for evaluation. 

They are: quality of the humanitarian service; the scope of the humanitarian impact; personal commitment/sacrifice; need for the community service; new and unique initiates/ideas; regional benefit; extent of volunteer/professional capacity; and references.

Regional chair, councillors, senior staff and a member of the community will make up the adjudication committee that will select the winner. 

The recipient will be announced in July at the regional council meeting and will have their named engraved on the commemorative plaque located in the regional headquarters building.

Nomination forms can be submitted at niagararegion.ca.

Applications will be accepted until March 31, 2019.

Subscribe to our mailing list