10.5 C
Niagara Falls
Saturday, April 13, 2024
2018 Women in Business Award finalists announced

The Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce and Women in Niagara have announced the finalists for the 18th annual Women in Business Awards.

The event celebrates the success and leadership of women in Niagara’s business community, with the goal of encouraging more women to aspire to leadership roles in various sectors.

The finalists:

Business Leadership Award

Amy Layton, Royal LePage NRC Realty; Sarah Wood, Niagara Parks Commission; Shannon Sutherland, Walker Environmental Group Incorporated

Community Spirit Award

Alexis Kleimann, iHub; Carey Benvenuti, Dominion Lending; Maria del Carmen Suescun Pozas, Seedling for Change in Society and Environment; Vivienne Dineen, Moksha Yoga; Yvonne Nasri, CAA Niagara

Cultural Arts Award

Alice Burke; Jenny Dean, Cabar-EH Youth Theatre; Lisa Cosens-Brillon, Brillon Music Studio; Michele-Elise Burnett, Celebration of Nations; Susan Wilkinson, The Painted Turtle

Emerging Business Award

Heather Kent, Feeder Flower Farm; Jennifer Newman, Second Dance; Jessica Silvestri, Bella Buddha Beads; Robin Ridesic, The Exchange Brewery; Tara Popiluk-Kulawic, Urban Cravings

Entrepreneurship Award

Christine Raby, AAPEX Driving Academy; Emily Rozema, Mingle Hill Farms; Shailina Halani, Sense Of Beauty Spa and Brow Bar; Teresa Schaubel, Giftologie; Chris Robertson, Loud + Clear

Science & Technology Award

Dr. Amy Proulx, Niagara College; Sharon Reeds, Intuitive Shipping; Shelley Mannell, HeartSpace Physical Therapy; Stephanie Thompson, GM

Social Enterprise Award

Debbie VanGrieken, Moyaa Shea Butter; Laura Ip, Underdogs Boxing Club; Renee Delaney, Niagara Farm Project; Sarah Lockbaum, Niagara Mobile Foot Care Service/Niagara School of Foot Care; Shauna MacLeod, Willow Arts Community

Tourism Award

Karen Doyle, City of St. Catharines; Shelley Traver, Rockway Vineyards; Beverly Smith, Southcoast Guest House; Natalie Stickles, Five by Five Design Studio

Young Professional Award

Allison Findlay, Flat Rock Cellars; Chantelle Mamone, Meridian Credit Union; Diana Aquino, Walker Environmental Group Incorporated; Julie Van Ruyven, Business Link Media Group; Mahnoor Sarwar, Crawford Smith & Swallow Chartered Accountants LLP; Michelle Biskup, Niagara River Lions

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Betty Lou Souter, CEO of Community Care St. Catharines & Thorold.

One winner will be chosen in each category at the Women in Business Awards ceremony, held on November 16, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Marriott on the Falls. Tickets are available to the public through the GNCC or eventbrite.

Subscribe to our mailing list