16.8 C
Niagara Falls
Thursday, June 13, 2024
St. Catharines Arts Awards nominees announced

St. Catharines has announced the nominees for the city’s annual arts awards, set to hit the FirstOntario Performing Arts Centre on June 4.

The awards celebrate the top artists in the city in five categories: Emerging Artist, Established Artist, Arts in Education, Making a Difference and Patron of the Arts.

In total, there are 21 nominees this year.

Winners will receive a hand-crafted gift from Clayton Haigh of Balance Glassworks, as well as a cheque for $500. 

As well, the city will honour two recipients in the Emerging Artist category, who will each receive a cheque and framed certificate.

The recipient of the Patron of the Arts Award will direct their $500 to an artist or arts organization of their choice.

“The talent that we will celebrate at the St. Catharines Arts Awards truly represents the best of our community,” said Kathleen Powell, supervisor of Historical Services and acting supervisor of Cultural Services. 

“The outstanding individuals and organizations that have been nominated for Arts Awards are all very deserving because of their commitment, their creativity and their contributions to making St. Catharines a more beautiful, vibrant and exciting place to live.”

Tickets to the awards ceremony are available now at the FirstOntario Performing Arts Centre box office, by phone at 905-688-0722 or online at, firstontariopac.ca.


Here are the 2018 nominees:

  • Arts in Education Award (sponsored by the Pen Centre): Derek Knight; and Katia Perez.
  • Emerging Artist Award (sponsored by the Marilyn I. Walker School of Fine and Performing Arts, Brock University): Marinko Jareb; Paul McLagan; Kevin Wang; and Jessica Wilson.
  • Established Artist Award (sponsored by Meridian Credit Union): Tenja Hagenberg; Wesley Klassen; Sheldon Rooney; Melissa-Marie Shriner; Patricia Vanstone; and Mathew Vizbulis.
  • Making a Difference Award (sponsored by the St. Catharines Downtown Association): Rebecca Cann; Chris Illich; Shauna MacLeod; Natasha Pedros; Royal Scottish Country Dance Society; and Laurie Sadowski.
  • Patron of the Arts Award: Patrick Little; NEXTNiagara Council; and The Sound.


WHAT: The St. Catharines Arts Awards 

WHEN: Monday, June 4 at 7 p.m. 

COST: $18.30 plus HST and fees on the day of the event/Advance tickets $13.20 plus HST and fees. 

Subscribe to our mailing list